FacebookGoogle PlusInstagramLinkedInTwitter
Presented by State Library Victoria

If You Love Historical War Fiction, This is For You!

Girl at War by Sara Novic

This book is about a girl called Ana Juric who grew up in Zagreb, Croatia during the Yugoslavian civil war. Ana is a carefree tomboy who spends most of her time playing football with her best friend Luka. Ana lives with her sister Rahela and her two very loving parents. As the war breaks out all over Yugoslavia, Ana’s sister gets sick and they must make some drastic changes to their lives. The plot of the novel is when war breaks out in the whole of Yugoslavia there are food shortages, the economy is sinking and air raids people don’t know what to do. But when opposing countries block of the exits to the country people go to drastic extents to get out of the country. Ana and her family have to leave due to Rahela’s sickness and have to sneak out and on their way home they run into trouble.

Spoiler: On their way home, they run into border patrol and they take people trying to cross the border, and shoot them. Ana’s parents tell her to fall with them and she falls. She escapes and walks for days and finds a village. Once she arrives at a village and she finds a family that takes her in. She joins the local safe house there and eventually when the village is invaded she joins the fight and kills someone. She realises that she needs to go home, and gets a bus back to Zagreb. She goes to Luca’s house and they find a way to sneak out of the country and go to America. She is able to get an education and goes to college. The book ends when Ana is back in Croatia after the war is over and she is with her childhood best friend Luca.

Overall this book is really enjoyable and I would highly suggest this to other people who like to read war and love stories. The best thing about this book is the way it’s written and how it is separated into different parts, and how the chapters change setting and timing at the end of every one of them. I would rate this book 4 out 5 stars.

4 comments

bookwithbane

Please utilize the spoiler tag!

22nd Jun, 19
blogaholic

yes agreed

24th Jun, 19
ahbooks

good review

24th Jun, 19
blogaholic

yes agreed

24th Jun, 19